Electric eels 12/6

Electric eels are usually very solitary. But recently, researchers have found that the Volta eel has been traveling in pacts. Electric eels can use their powers to make fish twitch and jump about. Eels are usually nocturnal but recently have been coming out in the daylight recently to hunt. They have also been hunting together. This is insane and scary because 10 Volta eels could power on hundred light bulbs. They usually travel in packs of over one hundred, often projecting a huge fish feet into the air. Each eel has the power to knock a horse down! They can each generate a power of six thousand volts (the Volta eel has more power), they are 5 times stronger then a wall socket. Their electricity producing organ ( sorry I don’t know what its called), takes up eighty per cent of their body

I wonder if you could convert electric eels into light? We could have a sustainable eel energy farm, they are carnivores though. I wonder if their electricity changes as they age? Maybe they don’t have it when they are babies. I wonder if electric eels are more prone to being zapped by lightning? I don’t know, I honestly don’t know how electricity works. I’m pretty sure flash isn’t conductive but maybe magic flesh is.

2 thoughts on “Electric eels 12/6

  1. I read this article too Maddie! Seamus’s girlfriend studies electric fish. She could probably answer a lot of your questions. What an amazing animal. I never thought about an eel farm to generate electricity! WOW

  2. Dear Maddie,
    That’s really cool how powerful each eel is, and how they’re all of a sudden changing their behavior to catch larger and better prey.
    Sincerely,
    Savannah

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *